OLDER FICTION
Chase, Paula

Dough Boys

(2) YA Relationships between Pirates Cove Projects kids (So Done) in the talented and gifted program and those who aren't have become strained. Best friends "Simp" and Rollie still hang out during neighborhood basketball; unfortunately, the league unofficially requires working for the local drug dealer, and escaping that life is easier said than done. Fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas will enjoy this rough and relatable novel told in alternating third-person narratives.

RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.