Guide/Reviews Database

2020 ALA Award Winners

The most prestigious honors in children’s literature, the Newbery and Caldecott medals, were awarded to Jerry Craft for New Kid and Kadir Nelson for The Undefeated on January 27, 2020, at the American Library Association’s midwinter meeting in Philadelphia. Also announced at the gathering were the winners of the Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré, Michael L. Printz, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Robert F. Sibert awards and several other major honors. Check out our complete coverage of the announcement here. Below are Horn Book Guide reviews of many of the award-winning titles from this year.


Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.